SAT MARCH 21, 2020, 8pm
Pre-concert lecture 6:45pm

Suzanne Karpov, soprano
Magdalena Wór, mezzo-soprano
Norman Shankle, tenor
Kevin Deas, bass
Jon Manasse, clarinet
National Philharmonic Chorale
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Mozart Clarinet Concerto in A Major
Requiem in D minor

The genius of Mozart found its last expressions in two works of transcendent beauty and power, each of them an iconic masterpiece in its genre: the Clarinet Concerto (Mozart’s last completed instrumental work) and the Requiem (which remained unfinished at his death). The elegant Clarinet Concerto, completed in October 1791, features some of the most sublime melodies that Mozart ever wrote.

In the last months of his life, when he was beset by illness and financial woes, Mozart received a mysterious commission for a Requiem Mass from an anonymous patron. In his confused state of mind, Mozart believed he was composing a Requiem for his own death. He worked feverishly, literally racing against time, but the work remained unfinished at the time of his death.

Jon Manasse is “an absolutely first-rate clarinet soloist.” — The New York Times