Tchaik 5

Sat Jan 26, 2019, 8pm
Sun Jan 27, 2019, 3pm

Celebrate Maestro Gajewski’s 60th Birthday!
Sat: Pre-concert lecture, 6:45-7:15pm; Sun: 1:45-2:15pm

Haochen Zhang, piano
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Brahms – Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor
Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 5 in E minor

Experience Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5, a work of great emotional pathos and introspection, and Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1, filled with gorgeous melodies. Haochen Zhang, 2009 Gold Medalist of the Van Cliburn Competition, takes the stage for the Brahms. Come hear them both at this special concert celebrating Maestro Gajewski’s 60th birthday!

“Such a combination of enchanting, sensitive lyricism and hypnotizing forcefulness is a phenomenon encountered very rarely.” – Ury Eppstein wrote of pianist Haochen Zhang in The Jerusalem Post

Zhang won the gold medal at the 2009 Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition and in 2017, received the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, which recognizes the potential for a major career in music.

Kids age 7-17 are free. Visit
Strathmore Ticket Office 301-581-5100.