Music Center at Strathmore
Ticket Office: 301-581-5100

National Philharmonic
The Music Center at Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Lane
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
Concert's Detail
Saturday, November 12, 2011, 8 pm; Lecture 6:45
Women Pioneers
Madeleine Albright, host
Chee-Yun, violin
Piotr Gajewski, conductor
Audrey Elizabeth Luna, soprano
Magdalena Wór, mezzo-soprano
Robert Baker, tenor
Jordan Shanahan, baritone

The Honorable Madeleine Albright, the first woman to serve as U.S. Secretary of State, hosts this evening dedicated to women in music and the law. All concert proceeds will go toward the Maryland WBA Foundation Inc.’s scholarships and the Finding Justice Project, which documents the history of women lawyers in Maryland. The concert begins with Aaron Copland’s noble Fanfare for the Common Man, a piece commissioned during World War II to honor soldiers fighting in the ranks, as well as those working on the home front. Joan Tower composed her Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman in 1986 “to honor women who are adventurous and who take risks,” using Copland’s Fanfare as her musical model. 
Violinist Chee-Yun, whose tone is like “butter, smooth, rich and flawless” (Strings Magazine), joins the Philharmonic for the dazzling Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso by Camille Saint-Saëns, one of the greatest child prodigies in the history of music.

Amy Beach, the first American woman composer of large-scale works, wrote the heartfelt and uplifting Grand Mass while she was still a teenager. The National Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorale present the rarely performed Grand Mass, which reflects the late Romantic period in its long melodies and breadth of conception.

Sponsored by LexisNexis and Finding Justice


COPLAND  Fanfare for the Common Man
TOWER  Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
SAINT-SAËNS  Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, Op. 28
BEACH  Grand Mass in E-flat Major
Copyright © 2016 National Philharmonic