Music Center at Strathmore
Ticket Office: 301-581-5100

National Philharmonic
The Music Center at Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Lane
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
Concert's Detail
Saturday, January 7, 2012, 8 pm; Lecture 6:45
Beethoven, Haydn and Mozart
Zuill Bailey, cello
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Written when the composer was completely deaf, Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge is a fiercely powerful and introspective work. Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1, to be performed by premier cellist Zuill Bailey, was unknown for about two hundred years until its rediscovery in 1961. As one of his early works, it showcases the young Haydn as a master of instrumental writing. In 1788, when Mozart wrote his last symphony, the lofty and revolutionary Symphony No. 41 (“Jupiter”), he was living a precarious life in Vienna. Even though under the strain of debt, Mozart did not allow his personal struggles to interfere with the noble treatment he gave to this triumphant work.

BEETHOVEN  Grosse Fuge, Op. 133
HAYDN  Cello Concerto No. 1 in C Major
MOZART  Symphony No. 41 in C Major (“Jupiter”)
Copyright © 2016 National Philharmonic