Music Center at Strathmore
Ticket Office: 301-581-5100

National Philharmonic
The Music Center at Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Lane
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
Concert's Detail
Saturday, October 9, 2010, 8 P.M.
Iwona Sobotka, soprano
Magdalena Wór, mezzo-soprano
Piotr Gajewski, conductor
The late Washington composer Andreas Makris reflects on his Greek origins in the Aegean Festival Overture, which blends classic form and folklore elements. The rarely performed A Sorrowful Tale by Polish composer Mieczyslaw Karlowicz (1876-1909) is a somber symphonic tone poem offset by recollections of happier times. Finally, one of Mahler’s most popular symphonies, Symphony No. 2, presents the composer’s meditations on afterlife and resurrection.
MAKRIS  Aegean Festival Overture
KARLOWICZ  A Sorrowful Tale
MAHLER  Symphony No. 2 ("Resurrection")
Copyright © 2016 National Philharmonic