Music Center at Strathmore
Ticket Office: 301-581-5100

National Philharmonic
The Music Center at Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Lane
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
Concert's Detail
Saturday, January 18, 2014, 8:00 PM
Three Great Classics
Gabriela Martinez, piano
Julie Keim, soprano
Robert Petillo, tenor
Kerry Wilkerson, bass
Victoria Gau, conductor

The brilliant inventiveness and virtuosity of the D major Divertimento is, to echo the words of Alfred Einstein “a masterpiece of masterpieces, on the smallest possible scale.” It is followed by Bach’s Piano Concerto No. 1, among the first concertos written for keyboard. The concert concludes with Schubert’s famous Mass No. 2 in G Major, composed in less than a week in 1815. All but unknown during Schubert’s life, it has become one of his most popular sacred works.

Mozart  Divertimento K. 136
Bach  Piano Concerto No. 1
Schubert  Mass No. 2 in G Major
Copyright © 2016 National Philharmonic