Music Center at Strathmore
Ticket Office: 301-581-5100

National Philharmonic
The Music Center at Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Lane
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
Concert's Detail
Saturday, January 4, 2014, 8:00 PM
Sunday, January 5, 2014, 3:00 PM
Sounds of Central Europe
Nurit Bar-Josef, violin
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

The Serenade for Strings by Dvořák, the great Czech nationalist composer, is laden with rich sonorities and hauntingly beautiful melodies suffused with the spirit of Czech folk music. Performed by Nurit Bar-Josef, concertmaster of the National Symphony Orchestra, Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5, often referred to by the nickname the Turkish, is full of energetic and lively melodies. Symphony No. 29, one of Mozart’s early symphonies, is a very personal work that combines intimate chamber music style with a fiery and impulsive manner.

Dvorák  Serenade for Strings
Mozart  Violin Concerto No. 5
  Symphony No. 29
Copyright © 2016 National Philharmonic