Music Center at Strathmore
Ticket Office: 301-581-5100

National Philharmonic
The Music Center at Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Lane
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
Concert's Detail
Saturday, April 6, 2013, 8:00 PM
Bach: Sleepers Awake!
Rosa Lamoreaux, soprano
Matthew Smith, tenor
Kevin Deas, bass
Justine Lamb-Budge, violin
William Neil, harpsichord
David Whiteside, flute
Mark Hill, oboe
Kathy Ceasar-Spall, oboe
FatmaDaglar, oboe
Michael Hall, horn
Mark Wakefield, horn
National Philharmonic Chorale
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Bach’s six Brandenburg Concertos are considered masterpieces and among the biggest hits of classical music. Each is written for a different combination of instruments. Concerto No. 1 requires the largest number of performers, with a string ensemble and a group of soloists. Concerto No. 5 features three solo instruments: harpsichord, violin and flute. The final piece, Cantata No. 140  for chorus and orchestra, is the famous Wachet Auf (“Sleepers Awake”), a wedding cantata depicting the uniting of Christ with the human soul.

Bach  Brandenburg Concerto No. 1
  Brandenburg Concerto No. 5
  Cantata No. 140, Wachet Auf (“Sleepers Awake”)
Copyright © 2016 National Philharmonic